Here are the results for the Manila Open.

The Kick-off event 

The Manila Open is a joint poker tour by Pokerstars and the Japan Open Poker Tour. Both companies have been working together for more than 10 years. The JOPT aims to promote poker to the Japanese both in and out of Japan. 

Due to the time constraint, the Manila open have a small tour (5 days) that still delivered good results. 

The warm-up event was a surprise hit as there was no guarantee plus the first day of the main event was happening the same day. In the end, it was the man from Peru that took it home although the local players were well represented even on the final table. 

Congratulations to Perez Luis Sernaque of Peru for winning the MOPT Kickoff Event! He will take home a Trophy and an amount of ₱510,000 ($26,584).

Here is the list of the Kickoff Final Table Result:

  • 1st Perez Luis Sernaque – Peru – ₱510,000
  • 2nd Yuki Takahashi – Japan – ₱344,600
  • 3rd Alexis Lim – Philippines – ₱237,200
  • 4th Sota Kawabata – Japan – ₱193,400
  • 5th Shosei Yamaguchi – Japan – ₱154,200
  • 6th Edilberto Atienza Jr – Philippines – ₱118,500
  • 7th Masaru Abe – Japan – ₱86,200
  • 8th MM Yang Yang Tan – Malaysia – ₱62,500
  • 9th Alfredo Boligor – Philippines – ₱51,320


The main event of the Manila Open was very exciting mainly because of the 10 million guarantee. The first flight garnered 118 players which placed the pot at the halfway mark. 

On the second flight, a good sum of 355 players entered, doubling the guaranteed pot and a successful tour at this point. The third flight became the bonus which saw another 123 players who joined the event.

It was a 2 day battle for the champion. After a long day, it was a head-up battle between Jun Obara who was the day 2 chip leader and Alex Lee who was keeping his pace. The heads up battle took awhile and the chip lead shifted from one player to the other. But in the end, it was Alex lee from Singapore who took the title. 

  • 1st Alex Lee 🇸🇬₱4,282,000
  • 2nd Jun Obara 🇯🇵₱3,621,000
  • 3rd Stephen Nathan 🇬🇧₱2,170,000
  • 4th Jun Yoshida 🇯🇵₱1,679,000
  • 5th Kentaro Somekawa 🇯🇵 ₱1,322,500
  • 6th Ricardo Torres 🇵🇭 ₱1,035,500
  • 7th Thomas Lee 🇨🇦 ₱765,500
  • 8th Shunsuke Fujiya 🇯🇵₱526,500
  • 9th Sandro Bruni 🇮🇹 ₱415,780

Other Event winners 

Event 3 Nightstack Champion – Eum Mi Kwon

Event 4 Deepstack champion – Kei Takazawa

Event 5 Flipout Champion – Yasuyaki Nakamura

Event 6 High roller champion – Takao Shimizu 

Event 7 Knockout Champion – Fukotomi Shinya

Event 8 6-max Champion – Hiroki Matsuura

Event 9 Turbo – Dave spade

The majority of the players were Japanese composing more than 82%. 4 trophies were taken by other countries.

The Kick-off event was won by Perez Luis Sernaque, a man from Peru but has been living in Japan for years and now considers himself to be Japanese. 

The Nighstack champion was a woman from Korea named Eum Mi Kwon.

The main event, of course, was won by Alex Lee, a regular in the Asian poker circuit.

Only one Filipino took home a trophy. Dave Spade of the Neverlosepoker team won the last event of the Manila Open. 

“Neverlosepoker” is a new poker site that is very active. They have recently just announced the formation of the Team pros and a new Event called “Millionaire Maker”,  A tournament that is 100k USD GTD for only 60 USD.

To know more about Neverlosepoker kindly check the link.